Washoe Lake

Triple Crown winners, Sam and Dragon

Latest NASTR News:

Red Rock Rumble, Nevada Silver Rush, NASTR Hat Trick (LD),
and NASTR Trifecta (50) Details

The Red Rock Rumble brochure, including the entry, is now available.

Note that this year's RRR will be a loop ride with all holds out of camp. So, while it will be familiar it will also be new. Through the generosity of several local ranchers, we will have lots of water available throughout the ride. It is the consideration of another local landowner that we were able to get you into some really great areas.

Also included in this brochure are the standings and nomination/entry details for the Nevada Silver Rush (Rides of March 50, High Desert 50, and Red Rock Rumble 50); the NASTR Hat Trick (Nevada Derby 25, NASTR 30, Red Rock Rumble 30); and the NASTR Trifecta (Nevada Derby 50, NASTR 50, Red Rock Rumble 50) Awards.

VC100 Entry Now Available

An online entry for VC100 is now available, using either PayPal or credit card.

The ride brochure with all ride stats and entry may be downloaded here.

We are also in need of volunteers to help out at the ride. If you would like to join us for this fun, historical event, please fill out this form.

NASTR Takes over Tahoe Rim Ride (TRR)

To ensure the continuation of this beautiful ride, NASTR has taken on the ride management of the Tahoe Rim Ride.

At this time we are working through the rider list from the cancelled 2018 ride and starting a waiting list. We will pull riders from that waiting list once we have completed contacting the riders from last year's list. If you would like to be added to the 2019 waiting list, please complete and mail in the entry form.

Challenge Series Current Results
(as of June 2019):

NASTR Introduces Two New Challenge Series for 2019:

NASTR 50 Trifecta and the NASTR 30 Hat Trick

Paralleling the Triple Crown, to challenge our 50- and 30-mile riders, complete all three rides in either the 50-mile or the 30-mile distance at: NV Derby 30 / 50; NASTR 30 / 50; and Red Rock Rumble 30 / 50 in the same year to be awarded either the NASTR Trifecta or the NASTR Hat Trick.

As with the Triple Crown, you may nominate yourself and your horse (for a progressively greater fee) at any time up to the start of the Red Rock Rumble. And as with the Triple Crown, same or different horse and rider will be recognized, please see ride entries for the series rides for specific details.

Awards will be given for:

  • Rider and Horse Team (same horse) who complete all three rides
  • Rider (different horse) who completes all three rides
  • Horse (different rider) who completes all three rides

2018 Triple Crown and VC100


Congratulations to:

  • Samantha Ellis and CA Zanes Dragonflyte (2018 Triple Crown Champions),
  • Peg Murphy-Hackley and HE Khem Chee (2018 Reserve Triple Crown Champions),
  • Jacob Cukjati and Melika Kamaaj (2018 Virginia City 100 Winners),
  • Christoph Schork and VA Blizzard of Oz (2018 Virginia City 100 Best Condition)

Rushcreek Spur, ridden by Shawn Bowling, attained his 500 Mile milestone (sponsoring Shawn's son, Ryder, on his first 100 mile completion, and son Jack on his third):

Photo: Mikel Ann Hettrick

Past Club News

Past club news can be found under our NASTR Historical Archives, together with the Virginia City 50th Anniversary web page.